Re-integrating the Self Narrative » Cyborgology


As friends and family are only now beginning to “get” the Facebook timeline, involuntarily, of course, I have revisited what I wrote in response to a Cyborgology post about a “radically distributed biography.” I kind of like that concept.

This is interesting, because I for some time I have felt that social media has given us a “radically distributed biography.” The timeline tries to reintegrate that, but only insofar as it is digitally dramaturgical. An autobiography might be written with a particular narrative, but each of the components of this narrative has been chosen from a particular performative standpoint, and as suggested, in a collaborative way.

Just as social networking sites allow us to visualize the underlying networks that already have existed, they now offer us a view into the postmodern self.

via Re-integrating the Self Narrative » Cyborgology.

